Chocolate Chiffon Cake with Whipped Cream and Berries

Image

Today was rough, to put it lightly. I woke up with a burst of life because I knew exactly what I wanted to do today. I had every intention of baking this beautiful cake for my boy, as tomorrow is his birthday. The plan was to make a huge, luxurious chocolate cake with chocolate whipped cream and berries piled to the sky. It was going to be perfect and I could not wait to get started. With all the ingredients ready, and with no worries, I began to bake. Although the cake turned out lovely, the chocolate whipped cream was not as successful. I could not get he ingredients to come together and it was a mess. I found myself, literally, on my kitchen floor, sitting against my oven and staring blankly at the wall. I wanted tears to come but they just wouldn’t flow. Pulling myself off the floor, I decided that chocolate whipped cream was overrated anyways and so I decided to whip up some plain, good old-fashion whipped cream. What could possibly go wrong? Well, apparently, a lot. I prematurely stopped whipping the cream and eagerly slapped it on the cake. I had turned my back for 20 seconds and when I turned back around it had completely melted. That’s when the tears finally started flowing. How come it seems that when you want to make something extra special, something ALWAYS goes wrong? Is it just me!? Wiping my tears away, I made a new batch of whipped cream after salvaging the cake from the melted whipped cream mess. And guess what? It turned out to be a really pretty cake after all! Not only did it turn out beautiful, but it is DELICIOUS too! The lesson to be learned: slow down in the kitchen. Taking the time to read a recipe seems like a no-brainer, even for the confident baker, but take the time to read the recipe carefully and follow the directions. Slowing down and following steps in order will ensure that your creations will turn out perfectly. Skip skimming and you will get it right the first try; imagine that!?! Enjoy this cake. After the time it took me to make it, I know I will!

For the Cake:

1/2 cup lightly packed premium unsweetened Dutch processed coca

1/2 cup boiling water

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

6 egg yolks, at room temperature

1 3/4 cups sifted cake flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 1/4 cups firmly packed brown sugar

7 egg whites, at room temperature

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

strawberries, blueberries and raspberries, as many as desired

For the whipped Cream:

4 cups chilled heavy whipping cream

1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 325˚

Image

ImageImage

In a small bowl whisk together the cocoa and boiling water until smooth.

ImageImageImage

Blend in the oil, buttermilk and vanilla.

Image

Image

Whisk in the egg yolks.

ImageImageImage

In a large mixing bowl sift together the cake flour, baking powder and salt.

ImageImage

Using a whisk blend in the brown sugar, working in all the large lumps.

ImageImage

Add the chocolate mixture and mix until smooth, do not over mix.

Image

In a standing mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whip the egg whites on medium speed till frothy.

Image

Add the cream of tartar and increase speed to medium-high until soft peaks form.

ImageImage

Remaining on medium high add the granulated sugar slowly. Turn the mixer to high speed until firm shiny peaks form.

Image

Fold a third of the whites into the chocolate batter using as few strokes as possible.

Image

Image

Add the remaining whites, folding till evenly incorporated.

Image

Butter and flour each 9 inch cake pan thoroughly.

Image

Transfer batter to each pan and bake at the bottom rack for, 50-55 minutes.

Image

Remove cakes from pans and let cool on cooling rack.

For the Whipped Cream:

  1. Using the whisk attachment on standing mixer whip the cream on high speed until soft peaks form.
  2. Add the powdered sugar and whip until completely combined.

Image

Loosely add whipped cream on each layer.

Image

Pile the berries on top!

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chiffon Cake with Whipped Cream and Berries

  1. Awww! 😦 I wanted to cry with you. It’s not just you; I had the same situation. I made something special for an occasion and turned out unsuccessful because I was running around in the kitchen as if someone was chasing me. I also learned my lesson. But anyways, the important is we have learned something. You made a delicious and pretty cake, by the way. And happy birthday to your boy. 😉

Leave a Reply

