The Best Pancakes Ever!

Image

Normally, if someone told me, “eat ricotta pancakes,” then I would tell them to get a life. But this morning something changed. I made them, and I was wrong: they aren’t crazy, but delicious. A few days ago I had a conversation in my head that went something like this: “The world loves pancakes, and I am no exception, therefore I want to make the best pancakes ever.” I proceeded to do some research about what makes pancakes so popular and I started to think about what I thought would make pancakes super cool. I came to some pretty tasty conclusions. I found out that the world really does love ricotta pancakes, and it’s not as crazy as it sounds. Although I was hesitant, I decided to try them out. Oh silly me! I thought that the pancakes were going to taste like big fatty cheese blobs. I don’t know about you but when I’m eating pancakes I want to go all-out sweet. I’m talking obscene amounts of syrup. And bring on the chocolate sauce! Bring on the berries! How about some sugar and cinnamon? Come on, I don’t care! The options are endless. Being the curious person that I am, I wanted to know about the worlds fascination with ricotta pancakes so I decided to make my own. Let me tell you, was I wrong about my hesitation! The ricotta does nothing but add moisture and glorious love and joy to each bite. You might say, “Come on, that’s a little extreme!” But really, ricotta pancakes are hyped up for a reason and I think you’re really lame if you don’t give them a try. I was scared about the ingredients, but they really are the best pancakes ever. Let’s do this people, and let’s do it together! Join the masses, join the trend and make these delicious ricotta and lemon pancakes.

DSC_0368

Image

DSC_0342

Ingredients

1 cup ricotta cheese

1 cup unsweetened soy milk ( just my preference regular milk will work just fine!)

3 eggs, separated into whites and yolks

1/4 cup sugar

 juice of 1 lemon

1 1/2 cups flour

1 Tbs. baking powder

2 pinches of salt

In a bowl add the following

Image

8 ounces package of blueberries

Image

16 ounce package of strawberries cut in the fourths 

Image

1/4 cup of sugar

Image

Half of a lemons juice

Stir in a bowl and set aside!

In a bowl add the following

Image 

1 cup Ricotta cheese

Image

1 cup of milk

Image

1/4 cup of sugar

Image

Three egg yolks

Image

whisk it all together until smooth

Image

Juice of other half of lemon

Image

In another bowl add the egg whites

Image

Whisk together until foamy, add pinch of salt.

Whisk until peaks form.

Image

 Now slowly fold the egg whites into the batter mixture. My egg whites definitely did not get peak-y enough because I did not have my Kitchen Aid. I whisked them as much as my arm could take, and they turned out great! So the moral of the story is: if you don’t have a Kitchen Aid, do not fret, just whisk away the old fashioned style! 

Image

Butter a medium to large sized pan.

Image

I used a half cup measuring cup to scoop the batter into the pan,  this creates smaller sized pancakes.

Image

When the pancake starts to bubble it is ready to be flipped, cook until golden brown. 

Once you are ready to serve cut a square of butter and put it on top and watch it melts all down the side it’s almost too good.  Now that you let those berries sit they’ve created a beautiful purple juice pour it on top of your pancakes and It will give extra moisture and flavor. spoon the berries all over make sure to include a berry with each bight, it makes it that much better!

Image

DSC_0374

Too good! No syrup necessary!

 

Adapted from William&Sonoma

 

10 thoughts on “The Best Pancakes Ever!

  1. I didn’t think I liked pancakes until my aunt made them for us. They were so good and now I crave them. They have buttermilk in them. Your pancakes look wonderful! I didn’t know about ricotta pancakes. Your pictures make me want to try them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

