Mom’s Corn-Chowder

Image

I grew up in a very healthy home. My mom was always a health nut. Some of her favorite meals to this day include brown rice with chopped tomatoes and jalapenos, all fresh of course, plain broccoli, or a cup of plain black beans. I remember the horror I used to feel in elementary school when all my friends would have Lunchables and juice boxes and I had a Tupperware of plain salad with a little side of olive oil that had spilled everywhere or just an avocado and a knife. As a kid, it was horrifying. I was never deprived, but still, I was always fed healthy foods. This corn chowder was one of my favorite dishes that my Mom made for me growing up because it was creamy, filling, warm, truly delicious and also healthy. To this day I still have never had a better soup. This recipe means a lot to me because it comes from my Mom, and I’m so glad to share with you guys. I hope this soup fills you with as much joy and comfort as it did to me growing up and to this very day!

Image

The yellowed pages, marks, and highlights make me smile, reminding me of all the times my Mom has made this soup for me. The cover of the book makes me even happier; it is marked 1993 (I was 2 years old) and my mom wrote my name around the cover several times because I was her only baby at this point – she clearly loved me. Recipe courtesy of “Follow Your Heart’s Vegetarian Soup Cookbook”.

ImageImage

You will need:

5 cups of water

6 cups russet potatoes, unpeeled

2 cups of diced yellow onion

5 cups of corn fresh

1 1/2 cups of thinly sliced celery

1 1/2 cups of finely diced green cabbage

1 large head of cauliflower, 3/4 cups diced, 3 cups bite sized flowerettes

4 tablespoons of butter

2 teaspoons of basil

2 tablespoons of spike

2 tablespoons of crushed garlic

1/2 teaspoon dill weed

1 cup of sour cream

1 cup of cream cheese

1/2 cup of half-and-half

3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast flakes

kosher sea salt or fresh ground pepper to taste

Refer to the bottom of post for step by step directions without pictures, if you prefer.

In a large 5 or 6 quart pot, prepare soup stock by bringing to a boil the following:

Image

Cut off the stem of cauliflower, finely dice 3/4 cups of cauliflower. Cut 3 cups into larger bite-size pieces and separate for later.

Image

6 unpeeled russet potatoes, chopped into fairly large chunks.

Image

2 cups of yellow onion

Image

1 1/2 cups of the corn

ImageImage

1 1/2 cups of peeled celery thinly sliced

Image

3/4 cups of Finely diced cabbage

Image

2 teaspoons of freshly chopped basil

Image

4 tablespoons of butter

Image

5 cups of water

Cook covered over low heat until potatoes begin to dissolve, stirring occasionally for roughly half an hour.

Meanwhile, prepare the remaining in a bowl so you can add to stock all at once:

Image

3 1/2 cups of corn

Image

2 teaspoons of crushed garlic

Image

1 teaspoon of dillweed,  2 tablespoons of Spike ( do not know were that picture went!)Image

1/4 cups of chopped parsley

Image

Add these ingredients when the potatoes in the stock begin to break down. Still keep it covered covered for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Image

While this is cooking add the following in a blender.

Image

1 cup sour cream

Image

1 cup cream cheese

Image

1/2 cup of half-and-half

Image

Add the additional 3 cups of cauliflower.

Continue cooking for another 10 minutes until potato chunks are tender, but still in tact, and cauliflower is a little bit tender but still chewy. At this point, turn the burner down to its lowest heat.

Image

Add cream mixture to soup

Image

Stir it up

Image

Add  3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

Image

Add more sea salt or spike depending on the taste to your liking. I like to let the soup sit for a few hours covered in my fridge and then, before serving, put it over a low flame. Since the vegetables are fresh, this gives it a chance for the flavors to infuse and taste really really really yummy.

ImageImageImage

Step by Step:

Cut off the stem of cauliflower, finely dice 3/4 cups of cauliflower. Cut 3 cups into larger bite-size pieces and separate.

In a large 5 or 6 quart pot, prepare soup stock by bringing to a boil the following: 

6 unpeeled russet potatoes, chopped into fairly large chunks.

2 cups of yellow onion

1 1/2 cups of the corn

1 1/2 cups of peeled celery thinly sliced

3/4 cups of Finely diced cauliflower

2 teaspoons of freshly chopped basil

4 tablespoons of butter

5 cups of water

Cook covered over low heat until potatoes begin to dissolve, stirring occasionally for roughly half an hour.

Meanwhile, prepare the remaining in a bowl so you can add to stock all at once: 

3 1/2 cups of corn

1/4 cups of chopped parsley

2 tablespoons of Spike

2 teaspoons of crushed garlic

1 teaspoon of dillweed

Add these ingredients when the potatoes in the stock begin to break down. Still keep it covered covered for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the additional 3 cups of cauliflower.

Continue cooking for another 10 minutes until potato chunks are tender, but still in tact, and cauliflower is a little bit tender but still chewy. At this point, turn the burner down to its lowest heat.

In a blender add: 

1 cup of sour cream

1 cup of cream cheese

1/2 cup of half-and-half

Add this to soup, along with

3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

Add more sea salt or spike depending on the taste to your liking. I like to let the soup sit for a few hours covered in my fridge and then, before serving, put it over a low flame. Since the vegetables are fresh, this gives it a chance for the flavors to infuse and taste really really really yummy.

4 thoughts on “Mom’s Corn-Chowder

Leave a Reply

