Mom’s Simple but Special Blueberry Pie

Image

As I said before, it’s pie season. Pies are so fun to make because you can decorate them in so many different ways, kind of like a blank canvas. For my blackberry-apple pie I posted earlier, I opted for a more rustic look, which Is a look that I absolutely love. However, I get so excited at all the different decorating options there are. I love the classic and traditional Lattice topper. It is beautiful and traditional, and did I mention SO easy? Since this look is classic, I decided to make my mom’s blueberry pie. It is so simple and amazing! Enjoy, friends.

Image

You Will Need:

Pie crust found here: Perfect Pie Crust

4 cups blueberries

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3 tablespoons flour

1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 400˚

Image

Add crust to pie pan

Image

cut crust following the shape of the pan

Image

In a large bowl add 4 cups of blueberries

Image

add 3/4 cups sugar

Image

3 tablespoons flour

Image

Mix mixture

Image

Roll out remaining pie crust.

Image

First dot pie with 1 tablespoon of cubed butter. Cut crust into even strips and lay across the top of the pie.

Image

Leaving even space between crust strips, weave stripes horizontally through vertical strips.

ImageImage

Brust crust with 1 egg diluted with water.

Image

Sprinkle with large granulated sugar

Image

Cover with foil and bake for 30-40 minutes.

ImageImage

Add some whipped cream, YUM!

Image

9 thoughts on “Mom’s Simple but Special Blueberry Pie

  1. This looks so delicious. I love, love, love blueberry anything, so I’m going to give the pie a try – hey, that rhymes. Love homemade pies, but hate making crusts, so I’ll just buy them. Maybe some day I’ll make another crust, but don’t see it happening soon.

  2. This looks delicious. At first I was surprised that you didn’t add any liquid, but after looking at the pictures and thinking about it, it makes sense. Blueberries have more than enough juice by themselves. I think I might just make a pie tonight!

Leave a Reply

