Hearty tomato sauce with three cheese zucchini ‘lasagna’ !

Image

Today is the first gloomy day we have had in California in what seems like years (but it has probably been more like months). This of course means dressing like I live in Antarctica, and fully embodying gloomy weather activities. Part of these activities meant making a warm hearty dinner and looking through the horror section on Netflix in anticipation for tonight’s movie selection.

I cannot stand, I repeat, I cannot stand when people try to imitate classically delicious things and make them healthy. I am all about being healthy. Believe it or not, I have a very healthy diet. However, I think if you are eating healthy, eat healthy. Don’t eat tons of fake imitation things that resemble non-healthy things you crave. I think its just annoying. Like come on that does not taste good, quit trying to fake yourself into believing you enjoy all those cardboard tasting mimickers. I regret calling this fake lasagna, “lasagna,” however that’s pretty much what it is. I love a hearty tomato sauce with vegetables. It is so yummy, and dare I say, the taste always kind of reminds me of pizza, gasp! I just totally contradicted myself, but that is is the point I’m trying to make. This faux lasagna is the exception of that faker rule I stand by because it is genuinely tasty. I am not kidding myself into believing this is healthy, It has loads of cheese, however it is packed with vegetables. Make it, it’s a perfect weekday meal and way to get your kids to eat the loads of veggies packed inside!

Image

Image

You will need:

1 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup olive oil, do not fill all the way to the top!

1 small yellow onion

14.5 oz can diced tomatoes

6 oz can of tomato paste

1 tablespoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon chili flakes

10 basil leaves

1/2 cup white wine

2 bell peppers, orange and yellow

5 zucchinis

4 garlic cloves

3 cups shredded mozzarella

1/4 cups Trader Joes unexpected cheddar cheese (optional)

1/3 cup parmesan

Image

In a large sauce pan add cherry tomatoes and olive oil.

Image

Allow to cook for a while on medium heat until they begin to soften.

Image

Slice your onion in large circles and add to the tomatoes and olive oil.

Image

Continue to stir.

Image

Image

Once the tomato and onion have softened add diced tomatoes.

Image

Add tomato paste.

Image

Stir till combined.

Image

Add salt.

Image

Add pepper.

Image

Add chili flakes.

Image

Add 4 basil leaves – I simply tore then in half.

Image

Add white wine.

Image

It will appear too liquidy at first, but stir together.

Image

Put the flame on the lowest heat, add the lid, and let cook for about an hour, stirring occasionally. This is totally optional – you can use right away if you would like.

Image

Cut off the top and bottoms of zucchini and cut int the strips.

Image

Slice bell peppers.

Image

Before you are ready to assemble, toss your zucchini in the sauce. Preheat oven to 325˚Image

Cook on low for about 5 minutes.

Image

Lay in pyrex.

Image

Top with shredded mozzarella, I used a log but next time I will use shredded.

Image

Layer half of the bell peppers.

Image

Layer with more zucchini.

Image

Add sauce.

Image

Image

Layer with remaining bell peppers.

Image

Add 4 cloves of loosely chopped garlic.

Image

Image

Top with mozzarella, again use shredded.

Image

Add Trader Joes’ “Unexpected Cheddar.”

Image

Chiffonade 6 basil leaves and place on top.

Image

Bake for 30 minutes at 325˚. Once it is done top with parmesan cheese. Let cool before serving!

 

2 thoughts on “Hearty tomato sauce with three cheese zucchini ‘lasagna’ !

Leave a Reply

