Pumpkin patch soup – so good you won’t want it go out of season!

Image

Today I visited the pumpkin patch! Visiting the pumpkin patch is one of my favorite traditions that I get stupidly excited about each year. I love the vibrant colors, interesting variations, and the creepy corn mazes. However, I have never had the desire to eat pumpkin in any other way than desserts. I like toasting the seeds, but I could not say I love them. This year, my pumpkin patch had a bin labeled, “cooking pumpkins.” I love this sort of thing….obviously. I decided I wanted my dinner to involve a pumpkin or two, so I bought them. Nathan quickly suggested pumpkin soup, which kind of freaked me out but, I agreed. I am forever thankful I agreed because what I came up with happens to be one of my new favorite soups! How could it not be with all my favorite ingredients, including garlic, onions and basil? I will be making this soup for years to come, and I am sure it will quickly become a classic in my family!

ImageImage

Nathan’s kitty Daisy wanted to help. She got into some chalk – that is why she has lovely pink highlights.

You will need:

1 medium sized cooking pumpkin

6 small potatoes, finely chopped

3/4 cups olive oil

32 oz veggie broth

3 tablespoons water

12 basil leaves

3 garlic cloves, loosely chopped

1 tablespoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

few dashes of chili flakes

1/2 cup feta (optional, or add whatever cheese you love!)

1/4 cup milk

Image

Image

Preheat oven to 375˚. Start by scooping out your pumpkin seeds. {Save them and rinse them to bake later with some salt – yummm!}

Image

Once it is seed free, cut in half and use a spoon to scoop remaining strings.

Image

Cut the halves in half and drizzle olive oil. Wrap each individually in tin foil and bake for 45 minutes at 375˚.

Image

Chop potatoes into small squares.

Image

Add to large pan, followed by olive oil, turning the flame to medium heat.

Image

Chop an entire yellow onion.

Image

Add onion and stir frequently.

Image

Add loosely chopped garlic.

Image

Once this becomes fragrant, add entire 32 oz. vegetable broth.

Image

Add 3 tablespoons of water. Leave on medium heat until soup begins to boil, then turn to lowest heat.

Image

Chiffonade and add 6 basil leaves.

Image

Blend a little more than half of the soup.

Image

Add to remaining chunky soup.

Image

Add salt.

Image

Add pepper. Continue cooking on the lowest heat while preparing pumpkin.

Image

Take out pumpkin and scoop out pumpkin meat.

Image

Image

add pumpkin meat to blender.

Image

Add feta.

Image

Add sour cream.

Image

Add milk and blend completely.

Image

Pour into soup and mix.

Image

Add remaining 3 basil leaves. Cook for about 2 more minutes.

Image

A few dashes of chili flakes and you are ready to serve the best soup ever!

Image

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin patch soup – so good you won’t want it go out of season!

  1. I’m definitely buying pumpkins the next time I see some. The soup looks and sounds wonderful, and I love the taste of pumpkin. As you said early on, I have only used it in desserts before, but now I’m inspired to make soup. Especially now that the temperature is dropping to soup level. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

