A classical Thanksgiving table scape

Image

When it comes to style, I would not classify myself as totally traditional. I like to keep things classy and timeless, but spice things up at the same time. I try and translate these ideas into my decorating style and philosophy. My last Thanksgiving table scape was less conventional because I steered away from the standard warm fall colors like orange and red. However, sometimes, upholding tradition is beautiful. The classic tradition can remind us of our childhood and other warm feelings of familiarity and comfort. From the colors to the plates this table is very traditional and completely emulates the warmth and happiness of the fall season. It did not cost much to assemble because much of the arrangement was found in my backyard and I made the place settings from brown grocery bags! Read more for a tutorial on this flower arrangement. I hope you are as inspired as I am! I am selling these center pieces, if you live anywhere from Camarillo, Ca to Goleta and are interested email me for a quote at mercedezblush@gmail.com!

Image

Image

Start first by determining the flowers you will use. Depending on how large or small you want the arrangement to be you can determine how many flowers you will need.

Image

I opted for a classic oval shaped dish because I wanted my arrangement to be long, almost imitating a garland on my table.

Image

Fill your vase with oasis and water. Allow the oasis to soak in the water very well before assembling.

Image

Start off with your base. Using greenery as my base I left the pieces long and draping out over the edges to create drama. Remember friends, imperfection is beauty, perfection is not. The key to a good arrangement is balance and nothing more, make sure each side is balanced with the other, not perfectly uniform.

Image

After you have created the base begin stuffing the center and edges with your pain flowers. I chose orange and white roses.

Image

To create continuity and balance I am using long stemmed baby roses and having them drape over the edges with the greenery. This creates balance, a harsh contrast between greenery and floral is cheesy and a bit to uniform for my taste!

Image

I literally drove around to find bunches of these little berries! They are perfect filler for any festive arrangement. I started by stuffing them around the base then worked my way up as needed.

Image

Lucky for me, there is a persimmon tree in my back yard! This shiny orange of the fruit adds the perfect pop of interest and additional color! The shininess is a beautiful combination and contrast to the duller muted color of my greenery. As you will notice later on, I left some persimmon leaves which also add a lovely pop of shine! If persimmons are not available to you pomegranates are the perfect alternative and sold in most grocery stores!

Image

Drama and length were my goal in this look. I ran outside and snapped of some gorgeous fall branches to add. These added  the perfect amount of length and added the true touch of fall, for FREE!

Image

At this point go in and fill any empty spaces you may have! I used more red berries, persimmons and baby roses

ImageImage

Now for place settings! I literally grabbed a paper bag from my local grocery store and cut it out by tracing a sheet of white paper so that it could fit into my printers paper tray.

Image

Type out your guests names in your favorite font and print it!

Image

Instead of cutting them straight I curved the bottom and top to add more interest.

Image

Cut pieces of the most simple string. Next poke a little hole in your name tag. Stick the string through and tie to the stem of a tiny pumpkin!

Image

How adorable and easy are these!

Image

Image

I did the same paper bag method and created little lists for each guest! This is a great conversation piece, write down what you are thankful for and share it with the group!

Image

I decided to use mix matched silverware. Each fork and knife is so different and unique it also adds character to the table.

Image

I grabbed some white and orange pumpkins left over from Halloween and scattered them around the table.

Image

I even propped a few within the arrangement!

Image

To balance all the whites on the table from the plates I added white candle sticks to the arrangement. This not only balances out the white it gives that extra glimmer and magical ambiance when lit.

Image

I used simple etched crystal and gold rimmed cups to keep thinks classical and beautiful.

Image

Image

Dinner is served!

12 thoughts on “A classical Thanksgiving table scape

  1. Pinning this tablescape as we speak those wooden tables are gorgeous. Love how you included a tutorial always wondered how these tablescapes were created and after reading your article can’t wait to make one of my own. Where did you buy the oasis flower foam at?

Leave a Reply

