No Knead Dinner Rolls

Image

Rolls are my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner, aside from the mashed potatoes, of course. Rolls are kind of like chips and salsa for me; no matter how full I am I feel like I can have another roll. Gross, I know. The name says it all….Roll, like roll on the mid section. 

 I have an excuse though: I don’t eat meat…. yes it is true do not hate me, meat is actually my favorite thing to make! I just don’t eat it.  Anyways because of this I indulge to the fullest on the side dishes, which includes rollsssss.  Therefore, I have authority on good rolls (I am starting to hate the word rolls the more I type it).

You need good dinner rolls for your Thanksgiving, kick it up a notch this year and make them yourself! These rolls are absolutely delicious and require no kneading! Have at it, impress your guests this year with super tasty homemade dinner rolls! 

You will need:

-4 cups Milk

-1 cup Sugar

-1 cup Vegetable Oil

-9 cups Flour

-2 packages (4 1/2 Tsp.) Active Dry Yeast

-1 teaspoon (heaping) Baking Powder

-1 teaspoon (scant) Baking Soda

-2 Tablespoons Salt

 

 

Image

 

Add four cups of milk to a large pan, think pasta pan.

Image

 

Add 1 cup of sugar to the milk.

Image

 

Add 1 cup of vegetable oil. Now scald the mixture, this means cook until just before the boiling point. Turn it off remove from the flame and let it cool completely. The pan itself should be comfortably warm before moving to the next step! 

 

Image

 

Add 4 cups of flour.

 

Image

 

Add 2 packages of yeast. 

Image

Now add 4 more cups of flour! You wait to add the extra flour to give the yeast more time to really sit around in the warmth of the milk mixture, in case you were wondering! 

 

Image

 

Stir it all up!

 

Image

 

Cover with a dish towel and let rise in a warm environment for about an hour. 

 

Image

 

An hour later the dough has risen quite a bit! 

 

Image

 

Add the very last cup of flour!

Image

 

Add 1 heaping teaspoon of baking powder. 

Image

 

Add 1 less than level teaspoon of baking soda. 

Image

 

Add two tablespoons of salt.

Image

 

Mix it all up!

Image

 

I kneaded mine a little…YIKES, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO! I just did because I love the look of a fluffy smooth bowl of dough. But, I repeat, kneading is not necessary. 

Image

 

Grab a muffin pan and butter it up! Generously.

Image

 

Rip out chunks of dough and roll into balls.

Image

 

Fill each muffin tin with 3 dough balls. Let rise for an hour or more!

Image

Look how puffy and amazing they look! Bake at 400˚ for 15-20 minutes!

Image

Amazing! Finally put some butter on the warm rolls and watch it melt then serve up!

 

7 thoughts on “No Knead Dinner Rolls

  1. Pingback: Garlic, White Wine, Cheesy Pull Apart Bread |

Leave a Reply

