Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Image

Oh my goodness, oh my goodness, oh my goodness! I can finally shout from the rooftops how excited I am that it is Christmas time! I am ready to fully dive into all activities Christmas. Roaring fires (even though it is 73˚ and sunny in California), getting hot chocolate, wandering through the mall for countless hours, buying totally unnecessary sweaters, watching all my favorite Christmas movies, and blasting Christmas music at all hours!! Yay! I watched Elf last night and I got unhealthily excited – heart attack level 931. This morning was no different; I turned on the fire (I am legit sweating because it’s hot outside), cranked up the Christmas tunes, pulled out my Santa mug and made peppermint cookies – YUM! Come on guys, get on this Christmas spirit train with me, were going full force!

Image

You will need:

-2 sticks Salted Butter, Slightly Softened

-1 cup Powdered Sugar

-1 whole Egg

-2 teaspoons Vanilla

-2-1/2 cups Flour

-1/2 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

-1 teaspoon Salt

-4 ounces  White Baking Chocolate

-Large Handful Of Red  PeppermintsImage

Cream together 2 sticks of butter and 1 cup of powdered sugar. Add 1 whole egg and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Image

Add 2 1/2 cups of flour to the wet mixture. Image

Add 1/2 cup unsweetened coco powder. Image

Add 1 teaspoon of salt. Mix until all combined and the dough sticks together in a ball. Image

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours. Image

Grab a handful of peppermints and put in a plastic bag. I tried using this hammer but found my wooden rolling pin worked better at smashing this bad boys!

Image

Pull your dough out of the fridge and roll into balls. Image

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Flatten balls with a smooth surface. I used an orange juice container because….YOLO. Bake at 375 degrees for 7-9 minutes or until barely done. Image

Melt your white chocolate chips in the microwave. WATCH them, pull them out ever 30 seconds and give them a little stir. I made the mistake of not doing that the first round and the white choco chips ended up black. Ya I did not know that was possible either. Image

Dip half of your cookie into the chocolate and sprinkle with smashed peppermints. Let dry before serving. YUM!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Leave a Reply

