Sriracha Mac n’ Cheese

Image

Do you ever want to eat just so you can have hot sauce, or is that just me? Sometimes, I legitimately make quesedillas just so I can have Tabasco or Tapatillo, I often want broccoli JUST to douse it in Sriracha; it’s a common theme in this life I’m living, just always lookin’ for the next food to victimize with hot sauce.

This HAS to be my favorite thing I have ever made, and I do not say this lightly. It is the most perfect combination of cream and spice. This is just the beginning for me, I have endless ideas of what else I can put this cheesy Sriacha sauce on!

If you are not down with spice, leave out the Sriracha and it is amazing too. But come on, live a little! Get ready for your world to be rocked!

You will need:

2 bags of big macaroni noodles

8 tablespoons butter

8 tablespoons flour

4 cups half-and-half

1 super hefty cup sharp cheddar cheese

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon Sriracha

Few dashes of fresh ground pepper

Half of a loaf of french breadIMG_4399

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, then boil your noodles! IMG_4402

In another large pot, melt 1 stick of butter, do not stop stirring or you will burn your butter!IMG_4404

Add 8 tablespoons of flour still stirring continually! IMG_4405

Once the flour and butter are combined slowly add milk. KEEP ON stirring until mixture starts to bubble and becomes very thick! DO NOT I repeat DO NOT stop stirring during this process, the stirring is how your mixture thickens. IMG_4406

Once the mixture is nice and thick turn off the flame. IMG_4407

Add 1 cup of cheddar cheese. IMG_4408

Add 2 teaspoons of salt.IMG_4409

Add a few good grinds of fresh pepper! IMG_4410

Add 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon of Sriracha. IMG_4412

Turn flame on medium and stir until the cheese is melted! IMG_4414

Drain your noodles, let them drain good! Nothing worse in my book then wet noodles. IMG_4416

Cut up half of a loaf of french bread, drizzle with olive oil and bake at 350˚ for about 10 minutes till crispy!IMG_4419

Meanwhile pour noodles into creamy cheesy sauce and mix it all up! IMG_4422

Put the noodles in a 9’13 inch pyrex pan.IMG_4425

 

Drizzle with some extra Sriracha for good measure, if spice really is not your thing, you may skip this step. IMG_4426

Top with breadcrumbs and bake at 350˚ for about 20 minutes!

4 thoughts on “Sriracha Mac n’ Cheese

  1. That is too funny. I always say “I can’t eat this mac and cheese without Sriracha!” and people think I’m weird. Going to have to try it IN the recipe now.

Leave a Reply

